Metapost: The Evolution of Raghead

For those of you who read Raghead:

I was just comparing the evolution of my drawing abilities in the months since I began the strip. I can’t answer for content (one of the things that I don’t want to do is become stale and repetitive like many burned-out cartoonists; please let me know if my work becomes disappointing) but as far as artwork goes, compare this post from last July:

https://ragheadthefiendlyterrorist.wordpress.com/2012/07/30/raghead-3072012/

to this, for instance:

https://ragheadthefiendlyterrorist.wordpress.com/2013/01/07/raghead-712013-raghead-has-a-question/

Yes, I am getting better. Also my depiction of individual characters is getting more standardised. People don’t look different from post to post anymore. (Note for instance the way Raghead’s head and face covering is depicted then and now.)

This standardisation is a common feature of most cartoon strips but I’m happy to see this happening with me.

Again: my gratitude goes to all of you who read my strip, and please continue with feedback. I need it to keep functioning.

2 comments

  1. Kia ora Bill,

    I hope you don’t mind me replying via email, I’ve been reading Raghead all along but because I am not registered to Word Press I haven’t left comments there (they make it too unwieldy I think). will probably join it one day. Anyhow just want to see that I think these Raghead cartoons are awesome and critique the situation beautifully. I have often been sharing them via my FB account with good feedback from people there. Do keep up the good work.

    Liz (aka Iri)

Leave a Reply

